Food Safety Definitions

– Understand Food Safety Terminology

1.What is HACCP?

  • Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) is an internationally recognised risk management tool which is designed to prevent physical, chemical and biological hazards in food and beverages BEFORE the finished product stage.
  • A HACCP system helps you to proactively address food safety risks through identifying and establishing control measures at critical control points (CCP’s) during production. HACCP is also a key element of many compliance standards and is frequently a requirement in international food trade legislation.
  • HACCP is relevant and widely used across all sectors of food and related industry including growers, manufacture, retail, packaging, distribution etc.
  • The 7 HACCP Principles are:
    • Conduct a hazard analysis
    • Determine the critical control points (CCP)
    • Establish critical limits
    • Establish a system to monitor control of the CCP
    • Establish the corrective action to be taken when a particular CCP is not under control
    • Establish procedures for verification to confirm that the HACCP system is working effectively
    • Establish documentation concerning all procedures and records appropriate to these principles and their application

2.What is ISO 22000?

ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System

  • If you already have ISO 9001, you are almost there with implementing ISO 22000. Being an ISO product, ISO 22000 uses some of the same principles and applications as ISO 9001. Therefore, ISO 22000 consists of Quality Management and HACCP.
  • ISO 22000 can be used by businesses with production, processing, transport or distribution of food products. There is a strong focus on quality assurance therefore requires management commitment to the program.

Food Safety System Certification 22000

  • FSSC 22000 is the combination of two international standards:
    • ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System
    • PAS 220 Prerequisite Programs on Food Safety
  • FSSC 22000 is an internationally accepted standard and approved by GFSI.

3.What is BRC?

  • The British Retail Consortium is a UK trade organisation that represents the interests of retailers. Also, recognised by the Global Food Standard Initiate, BRC is an internationally accepted standard for safety and quality assurance and can be used in any country and for any type of customer.
  • BRC was initially developed to establish a standard for due diligence and supplier approval. It includes safety practices with a strong focus on a Quality Management System (QMS), HACCP (by Codex Alimentarius) and Good Manufacturing Practices.
  • BRC Global Standards are available for:
    • Food Safety
    • Consumer Products
    • Packaging & Packaging Materials
    • Storage & Distribution
    • BRC follows the core principles of ISO 9001 as part of its quality management system.
  • Both Coles Supermarket and Costco Wholesale accept the BRC Global Standards Food Safety. Minimum pass rate is Grade B.
  • Check out for further information.

4.What is SQF?

  • SQF is your assurance towards Safe and Quality Food. Recognised by the Global Food Standard Initiate, SQF is an internationally accepted standard for food safety and food quality assurance.
  • SQF entails management commitment to not only conduct safety practices of your product or services but also to ensure quality and regulatory requirements are met.
  • SQF 1000 caters for primary production and SQF 2000 is applicable for food manufacturing, storage, distribution and agent/broker management certification.
  • There are two levels to the SQF management system
    • Level 2: HACCP Food Safety
    • Level 3: HACCP Food Safety & Quality
  • SQF is a more in depth version of the HACCP Codex Alimentarius including but not limited to:
    • Commitment to Food Safety. SQF can only work if the owners of the business or the core managers are committed to the program. Business continuity (crisis management), customer complaints management, and management reviews are included as part of your commitment to food safety.
    • Document Control and Record Keeping. These are integral elements of an efficient management system and ensures all documentation and records are manageable and legible
    • Product Development. In order to ensure compliance against regulatory, safety and quality, research and development of new products adhere to these procedures.
    • HACCP and Good Manufacturing Practices. Includes the HACCP risk assessment tool and all support programs required to control your Critical Control Points. Both Allergen Control & Quality are included at Level 3.
    • Verification & Validation. Verification ensures the SQF management system is functioning effectively and validation ensures all elements of the system achieves its intended purpose.
  • Both Coles Supermarket and Costco Wholesale accept the SQF food safety and food quality management system. Minimum Requirements:
    • Coles Supermarket: SQF Level 3 and pass rate must be 85% minimum
    • Costco Wholesale: SQF Level 2 and pass rate must be 85% minimum
  • SQF certification is your assurance towards customer trust and loyalty.
  • Head over to the SQF website for further information.


In 10 minutes, we can provide you with the answers you need:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Food Safety Resources